Night vision scopes / SightmarkDiscontinued
Sightmark Night Raider 3x60L
Gen 1 · 101.5 mm · 70 h · Discontinued
Compare the Night Raider 3x60L with others →
Check price
Affiliate links (Amazon, eBay): we may earn a commission. Prices change; the retailer's page is the current one.
Finest detail at 100 yd
Tube resolution (lp/mm)
How fine a detail a night vision tube can show, in line pairs per millimeter. Higher is sharper, but it is measured in a lab in good light.
~1.0 in
One dark and one light line, from the tube's published resolution and the lens. A lab limit in bright light: under starlight the picture gets coarser, and how much depends on the tube.
Specs
| Tube | |
|---|---|
| Generation Tube generations Labels like Gen 1, Gen 2+ and Gen 3 that group night vision tubes by design. They are a rough guide; the measured specs say more than the label. | Gen 1 |
| Figure of merit Figure of merit (FOM) A single number for night vision tube quality: resolution multiplied by signal-to-noise ratio. Higher is better, but check whether it is a guaranteed minimum. | — |
| Resolution Tube resolution (lp/mm) How fine a detail a night vision tube can show, in line pairs per millimeter. Higher is sharper, but it is measured in a lab in good light. | 35 lp/mm |
| Signal-to-noise Signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) How clean a night vision tube's picture is in very low light. Higher means less sparkle and grain on dark nights. | — |
| How the maker states these | Not stated |
| Phosphor Green vs white phosphor The color of the night vision picture. Green is traditional; white shows black and white. Many people find white more natural, but it is a preference. | — |
| Autogating Autogating A night vision tube feature that rapidly adjusts the tube's power when light gets bright, keeping the picture usable near headlights, yard lights or muzzle flash. | — |
| Manual gain Manual gain A knob that lets you turn night vision brightness up or down yourself, so you can keep contrast under a bright moon or near lights. | — |
| Optics | |
| Lens Focal length The lens number in millimeters, like 35 mm or 50 mm. A longer lens puts more pixels on a distant animal but shows a narrower slice of ground. | 101.5 mm f/1.7 |
| Base magnification Base magnification How much bigger things look before any digital zoom, like 2× or 4×. Higher is not automatically better: it narrows your view. | 3× |
| Max digital zoom Digital zoom Electronic enlarging of the picture. It makes the animal look bigger but adds no detail; past about 2× to 4× the image gets blocky. | 3× |
| Field of view Field of view How wide a view you get, in degrees. A wide view makes scanning for animals faster; a narrow one usually means more magnification. | Not publishedField is published only as 20 m at 100 m, not as an angle, so none is stored (it would be about 11.4°). Built-in 780 nm laser IR illuminator, 150 mW equivalent. Range detection 220 m / 240 yd, conditions not stated. Exit pupil 6 mm; minimum focus 8 m; internal focus. Click value 20 mm at 100 m. Two-color rangefinding reticle. Titanium alloy body. Resolution 35 lp/mm. Tube reliability 1,000 hours. Operating temperature printed as -22 to 220 °F / -30 to 104 °C, which reads as -30 to +40 °C with the units swapped. |
| Detection range (maker’s claim) Detection range The maker's figure for how far away a warm object shows up as a dot or two. It is far longer than the distance you can tell what the animal is. | 241 ydconditions not stated |
| Power | |
| Battery | 2 × AA, removable |
| Runtime Battery life (runtime) How many hours the device runs on a charge, by the maker's test. Real runtime is shorter in the cold and with Wi-Fi, recording or the rangefinder on. | 70 h |
| Features | |
| Rangefinder Laser rangefinder A built-in laser that measures how far away the animal is. The rated range is for big, reflective targets; expect much less on a coyote. | No |
| Riflescope | |
| Eye relief Eye relief How far your eye sits behind the eyepiece and still sees the full picture. On a rifle scope, more distance keeps the scope off your face under recoil. | 45 mm |
| Recoil rating Recoil rating How much rifle recoil the maker says the scope can take and still work and hold zero. Makers state it in different units, so compare carefully. | Shock-proofness 3,700 J (with rifled gun) |
| Mount Mount How the scope attaches to the rifle: standard rings or a rail clamp, fixed or quick-detach. A good mount does more to hold zero than anything else. | Weaver/Picatinny |
| Ballistic calculator Ballistic calculator Software in the scope that moves the aiming point for distance, using your bullet's data and the range to the animal. | — |
| Zero profiles Zero profiles Saved sight settings for different rifles or loads. Switch profiles instead of re-zeroing when you move the scope or change ammunition. | — |
| Build | |
| Weight Weight How heavy the device is. Check whether the maker weighed it with or without the battery, because brands do it differently. | 44 oz |
| Water rating IP rating (water rating) A two-part code for how well the device keeps out dust and water. IP67 means dust-tight and survives a short dunk; an X means not tested. | IPX4 |
| Operating temp Operating temperature The temperature range the maker says the device will work in. Batteries lose much of their runtime well before the low end of that range. | -22°F to 104°F |
| Buying | |
| Warranty Warranty How long the maker promises to repair or replace a faulty unit. Check whether it needs registration and whether it passes to a second owner. | Limited lifetime |
| US price US price The price we found for the unit in the US, with where it came from and when. Prices change often, so treat it as a snapshot. | Discontinued |
| MSRP MSRP The maker's suggested retail price in the US: the list price, before any sale. Useful for seeing how good a deal really is. | Not published for USNo Sightmark list price found. The Wayback Machine was unreachable from this session. |
Source: Sightmark spec sheet SM16017 (Sightmark's PDF hosted by OpticsPlanet).
Added October 11, 2026 · Specs last checked October 11, 2026
Current models to compare
In production now, nearest in resolution and range.
CORE+ technology tube ("Gen 1+" on Bering's Russian-language page) · 52 ft wide at 100 yd
Compare with the Night Raider 3x60L →Gen 3 Bravo, thin-filmed · 47 ft wide at 100 yd
Compare with the Night Raider 3x60L →Thin Film Gen3, 64-72 lp/mm · 47 ft wide at 100 yd
Compare with the Night Raider 3x60L →Gen 3 filmless ("L3 Filmless") · 47 ft wide at 100 yd
Compare with the Night Raider 3x60L →
Other Sightmark Night Raider models
Other sizes and versions in the same line.
- Sightmark Night Raider 2.5x50Discontinued
Gen 1 · 68 ft wide at 100 yd · discontinued
Compare with the Night Raider 3x60L → - Sightmark Night Raider 3x60Discontinued
Gen 1 · 58 ft wide at 100 yd · discontinued
Compare with the Night Raider 3x60L →
